Home   Forum   Register   Login   Search

Board index » The Infamous Casanova Crew Forum » Off Topic » Stock Market/Wealth Building

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 64 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next
 Post subject: The Stock Market thread
 Post Posted: Tue Aug 23, 2011 7:50 am 
Host of the Decibel Show "n00b"/CCLA Member/CC Best Homegrown Coach 2010

Now that everyone is losing their nest egg on the market, I am strongly tempted to get in on the potential boon that awaits. So just like I obsessed over PU, I'm now studying wealth acquisition, reading books by Warren Buffett and understanding investing and shit like that. If I can get in the heads of billionaires, hopefully I can use that to make fortunes.

One such book I'm reading now is One Up on Wall Street by Peter Lynch. It's a masterpiece, and a very quick read that'll get you up to speed. I'll tell you what I've learned from this book.

To anyone with experience in the market, good or bad: please contribute here so we can all learn what to do or not to do. Include tips in general, or on specific stocks.

In general, the important point is that a stock is a piece of the business. You don't just buy a stock, you buy part of a company. As such, you should look for solid companies, and by this I mean ones that will probably have great earnings over the next 10, 20 years. As earnings go up, so should their stock prices. And if you buy the stock when it's worth 5 bucks, and sell when it's at 50, you've just made a 10 fold profit.

Likewise, if you buy into companies that are not growing particularly well or are doing shitty business, your stock value will drop.

The Chodefest Journals. dB's reports in one spell-binding ebook.

MAN SCHOOL. Let's get this handled.

Coming soon, my directorial debut, Blood Rush.

Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on OrkutShare on DiggShare on RedditShare on DeliciousShare on TechnoratiShare on TumblrShare on Google+

Post Posted: Tue Aug 23, 2011 8:14 am